Ayurveda: The Ancient Medical Wisdom

Ayurveda is a traditional holistic healing practice. Ayurveda is perhaps the oldest system of health care in the world which originated in the Indian subcontinent. Translated from Sanskrit, Ayurveda means 'the science of life'. Ayur means “life” and veda means “science”. Ayurveda has its root in ancient vedic literature and encompasses our entire life; the body, mind and spirit.
All over the world today we are looking for a natural system of healing that is comprehensive and complete, that is not merely some curious form of folk healing but a real and rational system of medicine that is sensitive to both nature and the Earth. This is exactly what Ayurveda has to offer, for it has a many thousand year-old clinical tradition and a comprehensive natural method of treatment ranging from diet, herbs and massage. The western world is now realizing the value of Ayurveda in treating chronic diseases like Arthritis, Paralysis, Stroke, Neurological disorders etc. Even WHO has given high rating for Ayurveda system.
With Ayurveda, we learn the right diet for our individual type, how to improve our immune system, the keys to right use of sexual energy and rejuvenation, and a conscious way of life that can lift us to a new level of awareness in all our endeavors.
Without such natural wisdom as Ayurveda, we may find ourselves not only unhealthy, but unhappy and spiritually confused.
Ayurveda Principles and Theory
Ayurveda system is the prominent user of herbs and its basic theory revolves around imbalance and vitiation of three humors (Doshas).
Ether (Space), Air (Vayu), Fire (Agni), Water (Jal) and Earth (Prithvi) are the great five elements which underline all living systems. These elements are constantly changing and interacting and can be simplified into three Vitiations (Doshas). When these doshas remain under harmony and balance, your entire body is in a healthy state. However, when their balance gets disturbed, a diseased state sets in.
Five Basic Elements
Ayurveda Five Elements 
From the essence of satva the five senses are created:- Ears to hear, skin to perceive touch, eyes to see, the tongue to taste, and the nose, to smell. The essence of rajas is manifested as the five motor organs: speech, hands, feet, genitals and the organs of excretion. The mind is derived from satva, while rajas is manifested as prana, the life force. The tamasic quality is also responsible for the creation of tan matra, the subtle elements, and from whom the five basic elements are manifested. These great five elements are: space, air, fire, water and earth.
Ether (Space)
Expansion of consciousness is space and space is all inclusive. We need space to live, and our bodily cells contain spaces.
Its representative in the body is the biological air, responsible for movement of afferent and efferent, sensory and motor-neuron impulses.
Where there is movement, there is friction, which creates heat, so the third manifestation of consciousness is fire, the principal of heat.
Because of the heat of the fire, consciousness melts into water.
The next manifestation of consciousness is the earth element. Because of the heat of the fire and water, there is crystallization. According to Ayurveda, earth molecules are nothing but crystallization of consciousness.
The Three Doshas: Vata, Pitta and Kapha
Three Doshas
The structural aspect of the body is made up of five elements, but the functional aspect of the body is governed by three biological humors (Doshas). The three doshas are vata (Wind), Pitta (Bile) and Kapha (Phlegm) and due to predominance of the one dosha, a person's personality is determined that is ' Vata-Prakriti', 'Pitta- Prakriti' or 'Kapha Prakriti'.
Vata formed from ether and air, governs all movement in the mind and body and must be kept in good balance.
Pitta formed from fire and water, governs "all heat, metabolism and transformation in the mind and body
Kapha formed from earth and water, cements the elements in the body, providing the material for physical structure
Each person has an individual blend of the three doshas, with one or sometimes two doshas predominating.
How does Ayurveda work?
Ayurveda is the essence of old Hindu Medicare techniques, which are based on the curing the diseases from the roots. In Ayurveda, whole body is supposed as a mutually responding system. A single part not responding well may cause a disturbance in all body. Ayurveda works for the aim of complete health.
Allopathic techniques are based on the concept of sudden and instantaneous relief, so often the patient get rid of his problem for a short period, but the origin of disease is not eliminated, finally there comes the probability in future for that origin to be worse. Allopathic techniques uses antigen that introduces a chemical, heaving opposite effect of what the body is producing. So, there is always a risk with the power and supplied quantity of the drug.
On the other hand, Ayurvedic Medicare is based on natural and herbal techniques and supplements, which are 100% side effect free. Ayurveda does not believe in antidotes and antigens, very rarely those techniques are used, Ayurveda works not to suppress the system of body, but to go to the origin and cure the basic disturbing element. In such treatments, there are very low chances of side effects and the benefit for the body is forever. It provides a complete health treatment which affects positively on body, mind and soul.
Related Topics: 


Natural Health Expert Panel

Seema Dixit

Dr. S.S. Aggarwal

Recent Discussion Topics
Follow us on
Facebook Twitter YouTube